Sailing With An Analog

This time, I decided to just bring with me an analog slr, which I borrowed from a friend for over a year now. The option surpassed the digital one for weight and aperture factors. Analog is also a good way to refrain from too much clicks and it saves my time later from too much photo options. If you want to get better with photography, many professional photographers would advise you to use an analog. It would seem to be a paradox for any pro yet can’t shoot with an analog camera. But hey, for the love of photography, camera is not an issue, you capture the moments in your point of view.

I am a novice at analog. What I like about it is the natural/vintage look (but I  do want to try Kodak Portra 160 soon!). Also, I feel more excited and fulfilled with my film pictures than the ones with the digital. And I noticed, I think more than usual before I shoot that leads to the avoidance of too much dependence on post production. Although it is disadvantagely time consuming, I believe it gets better with practice.

So, I was sailing, my first time to sail with an analog (Pentax K1000 with Kodak Gold 200 Exp.).

I came to an island in the northern part of the South, in the east is the Pacific Ocean. This was the second time I’ve been to this place. It’s basically known to its pristine waters and hot and cold springs and of course, the active volcano that erupted decades ago that naturally created a place later would be known as a tourist spot called the Sunken Cemetery. But I wasn’t sailing for a vacation; I was there for a field research, a project I came to work for an NGO. I was told that the place is really good for abaca farming, that’s why the government chose this as one of the areas for the sustainable abaca farming project because of its rich soil and humid weather. Abaca fiber has a significant role in the economy, think about your stuff, blankets, bags, wallets, the tea bags, ropes, furniture and clothing that are made of abaca fibers. I also learned that it is also used in making paper currencies. The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas has already started making peso bills in 2001 with 20% abaca content while Japan’s bank notes are made of 30% abaca fiber. According to the Bureau of Agricultural Research, the Philippines is the world’s leading abaca producer followed by Ecuador. From 97%, it shifted to 80% of the world supplies (2014). Nevertheless, abaca production has a huge contribution in the country’s economy, creating livelihoods to the farmers.

Let’s go back to the sailing. This is actually why I sailed to this island. Before I knew it, I was sailing for a greater story that partly defines this island. When I come to think about the things I own made of abaca fibers, I would be seeing it in a new perspective. It takes months or years to grow an abaca, harvest takes 3-8 months before its early growth, stripping the abaca for the fiber needs a lot of strength and think about the heat of the sun and the distance they have to go through to cultivate it. I have my respect for these farmers, I hope they earn what they deserve.

I should go back to the sailing. Ferries at the port to the island are quite rusty, it infers the oldness of those floating architecture or explains the effects of these vessels have to go through in everyday’s voyage and even their moments at the docks. It’s apparent that their vulnerability has been exacerbated by a harsh environment created by the salt water and the sea air. But it seemed none of these matters to the passengers. You’ll be consumed by the sea breeze and a view of the horizon or by the heat of the sun or a program in a television, a talk with other passengers, a good music and maybe taking pictures. The corrosions would not matter, this boat will soon dock at the island.


2015 © From Utter Space With Peace & Love

Sailing With An Analog

Leave a Reply

